Our New Officers, As We Enter Into a Year of Transition

Last Friday, UFP’s 2022-23 Board of Directors met for the first time in this unique transition year. Our formal business was to choose our Officers for 2022-23, as required by our Bylaws. And here they are:

President: Ben Wolfe
Vice-President: Aukje Byker
Treasurer: Joan Higginson
Secretary: Scott Donovan
Past President: Steph Wildheart

Board Members: Tracy Galvin, Mundy McLaughlin, Julie Wallace

We chose to spend some rich time “being” with each other before the “doing” of naming Officers. We are a strong and committed group of 8, half returning and half new to the Board. We wanted to start from each other’s passions for the work of this year, reasons for saying YES to joining the Board, and ways of working in a small group.

As Rev. Julie described last Sunday, we used some elements of Sociocracy for the role selection. The Board is now four years into play with this next-generation governance system, which aims to be more collaborative, creatively emergent, time-efficient and decentralized than Roberts Rules structures and meetings. Scott and Aukje join Ben in bringing several years of experience with Sociocracy to the new Board.

This year’s Board enters into all the coming adventures, possibilities and challenges of Ministerial transition with the dual mission of stability and self-aware, creative renewal.

The Board will benefit tremendously from the continuing presence of last year’s President Steph Wildheart. We are grateful for the contributions of our four departing members. Guy Hanchet is a past President who has been deep in the work of our Beth Israel partnership, Safe Gathering and (now) the Interim Search Committee. Chris Risley has been an ideal Secretary through his years on the Board. Meredith Hill is now helping lead both the Interim Search Committee and the Good Endings team. Heather-Lynn Fraser contributed greatly to Safe Gatherings and in other ways.